Lincolns honouring 1984-85 champions

Junior ‘B’ fans, please circle Friday, Feb. 9. That’s the night the Lincolns are hosting Strathroy Rockets at 7:30 p.m. Prior to the game, Lincs will honour the 1984-85 St. Marys team which captured the Western League playoff championship.

That memorable spring, Lincolns defeated Dickie Robinson and the London Diamonds (now nicknamed the Nationals) in the best-of-seven final, four games to two.

In a packed house on the night of March 8, 1985, Lincs clinched the title with a 4-2 home-ice win. An estimated 2,400 fans jammed into the PRC to watch a hard-fought game. The late John Rowland scored twice to lead St. Marys to victory over a bitter rival.

Players on that Lincolns team included: Don Grasby, Scott Luce, Jeff Shipley, Jeff Warren, John Kernick, Paul Kalbfleisch, Scott Eccles, Steve Nelson, Phil Carter, Sean Clifford, Rob Mackie, Lonnie Loach, Tony Crisp, Dave Doyon, Bill Zufelt, Scott Bodenham, Nick Varvitsiotis, Pat Jackson, John Rowland, Denis Roy and Pete Bodenham.

Jeff Van Vliet and Scott Graham were the Lincs’ coaches, the late Angie Nigro and Rick Bradford were the managers, and Mike Bannerman, the late Ken Bailey and David Kunder were the trainers.

Executive members included: Bruce Graham, the late Jack O’Rourke, Grant Guymer, Jim Sealey, Pat Payton, Tim Van Oosterhout, Doug Kennedy, Ken Brunsdon, George Shrubsole, Rob Staffen and Ron Lindsay.

You May Also Like