Norampac Peewees lose heartbreaker

At recent Woodstock Wildcats tournament


WOODSTOCK – The Norampac Peewee girls lost a heartbreaker in the early Sunday morning semi-finals at the recent 22nd annual Woodstock Wildcats tournament, Jan. 4-7.

Goalie Kiera Akey started the tournament off with a shutout of the host Wildcats team Friday morning, leading her Norampac squad to a 2-0 victory. Goals came from Chloe St. Louis and Becky Walsh, with assists to Ava Ansley and Kendra Robertson.

The St. Marys girls then defeated a pesky Mitchell Meteors team 2-1 in an afternoon match. The game winner came off the stick of St. Louis with a hard-work assist from Ava Ansley. Ansley opened the scoring earlier in the game by chipping in a rebound off a rush by Anna Standeaven.

The Norampac squad then met a high-tempo Wallaceburg Lakers team on Saturday morning and came from behind to gain a 2-2 tie. Ansley provided both St. Marys tallies, with Walsh assisting.

The tie put the girls into a quarter-final game Saturday afternoon against Tillsonburg Lightning.

Grace Hillman would not be beaten, and Ellen Thorup provided the late-game heroics with a slick breakaway goal after a lead pass from Standeaven.   

On Sunday morning, the Norampac Peewees ignored the frigid temperature in the Civic arena and came out strong against Saugeen Shores Storm.

Anna Standeaven set the tone defensively against two very strong Saugeen players, and then opened the scoring going ‘five-hole’ after starting behind her own net. St. Marys went up 2-1 when Chloe St. Louis convert an Ansley rebound.

With the score 3-2 for Saugeen late in the third, Ansley chipped in a rebound off a shot from Ellen Thorup. After trading chances early in the overtime, the Storm netted the winner with less than a minute to play.

The Norampac girls showed great versatility and determination in their style of play on the weekend which will serve them well at Silver Stick in February.

Players of the games during the tournament were awarded to Abbie Boyd, Anna Standeaven, Rebecca Walsh, Grace Hillman and Avery Jones.

Wallaceburg defeated Saugeen Shores 4-1 in the division final.

You May Also Like