100th Anniversary of the Perth County Holstein Club

Pictured are some of the past recipients of the prestigious Master Breeder Shield from the St. Marys area.  Seated are Stuart Smale & Don Stevens.  Back row Dave Standeaven, Ken Smale, Glen Standeaven, Murray Grant & Morris Vandewalle.

By June Grant

Approximately 460 people attended the 100th Anniversary Gala of the Perth County Holstein Club held at the Rotary Complex Auditorium in Stratford on the evening of March 25.

For many it was an opportunity to meet old friends and re-live memories of times past.  Master of Ceremonies Gary West kept his audience entertained throughout the evening and mingled with the crowd during his “Walk Down Mammary Lane” where he singled out Stuart Smale, Don Stevens and Murray McGonicle for their individual memories of the past.

Later in the evening, past presidents of the club were recognized as well as recipients of the prestigious Master Breeder Award in Perth County. In 1929, Holstein Canada established the Master Breeder award which recognized Holstein breeders for their cumulative breeding efforts taking into account both high production and outstanding conformation.  Since inception, only 924 Master Breeder shields have been bestowed to members across Canada.

St. Marys and area has been well represented as recipients of this award – Vandeholm Farms – Morris & Jerry  Vandewalle (2003), Sutherhill Farms – Glen & Dave Standeaven (2000), Downiedale Farms – Stuart & Ken Smale (1974 & 1993),  Grant Haven Holsteins – Earl & Murray Grant (1992), Parklawn – Ken Parkinson (1989), Picklea – Jack Pickel & Sons (1986),  Stonetown Farms – David & Don Stevens (1964 & 1983), Valley Lodge – Ernest C Roger (1968) and Thames Crest – Hooper Bros (1963). The Perth County Holstein Club would like to thank all their generous sponsors who helped to make this 100th celebration a success.

You May Also Like